What God has me pondering. . .

Sometimes God works in my life by sending me little messages, “random thoughts” really that I ponder slowly in the back of my brain over the course of days.  As I read various things and study His Word, I connect dots.  One reason for this blog is to share these thoughts.  So here goes.

Yesterday I was telling God how it seems like I used to handle trials better than I have been presently.  Now I just want them to go away.  But I don’t think that is really His plan.  Instead of ending the trial, He gives me another “random thought”, like this one I just read from a friend’s blog two summers ago.

Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. (1 Peter 4:12)

Oswald Chambers said, in response to this verse in 1 Peter, “Rise to the occasion—do what the trial demands of you. It does not matter how much it hurts as long as it gives God the opportunity to manifest the life of Jesus in your body.”

For today, I have a little more strength.  I will rise to the occasion.  I will do what the trial demands of me.  And I hope I will glorify God in the process.

AJ

Leave a Reply

